Indian Passport

As per the Passport Act, 1967, the passport issued by the Government of India certifies that the holder is the citizen of the Republic of India by birth or naturalization. The CPV (Consular Passport and Visa) division of the ministry of External Affairs serves as the central passport organization and is solely responsible for the issuance of Indian passports.

Passport is issued pan India at nearly 37 locations. Apart of this, there are 162 diplomatic missions abroad, where Indian passport can be issued, which includes consulates, high commissions and embassies.

What is Indian passport?

An Indian passport is issued by the government of India confirming the Indian citizenship as well as the identity of the holder. Along with this, the passport being the legal document permits the holder to travel across the countries hassle free.

Why is passport necessary?

It serves as the necessary document for hassle free travel to people who wish to travel foreign countries. The Indian passport also serves as an identity document both within and outside the country.

What does an Indian passport look like?

Today's Indian passport is a blue black covered, booklet like document which is printed with golden ink on it. At the very centre of the front cover lies the National Emblem of India, above which the word Passport is written both in Hindi and English whereas just below the emblem, 'Republic of India' is inscribed in both above mentioned languages. One can apply for either 36 or 60 pages passport as per the need.

Types of passports in India:

  • Type P / Ordinary passport: "P" denoted personal. This is the general purpose passport issued to public for travel or business.
  • Type S / Official passport: "S" denotes service. This is issued to officials travelling abroad on official/ government/ state work.
  • Type D / Diplomatic passport: "D" denotes diplomat. This passport is issued to diplomats who travel for official government work, also those posted abroad.